Political hopefuls in Brookhaven are filing this week as candidates for mayor or City Council of the newly created city.

Qualifying officially began at 9 a.m. Aug. 13. It lasts through 4:30 p.m. Aug. 15.

There are four council district seats.  District 2 and District 4 candidates will be running for a short term that ends in 2013. District 1, District 3 and the mayor’s seat will be up for re-election in 2015. Election Day is Nov. 6.

Here’s who qualified for office as of 4:30 p.m. Aug. 14:


J. Max Davis


District 1:

J.D. Clockadale

Alan Cole

Kevin D. Fitzpatrick Jr.

Rebecca Chase Williams


District 2:

Larry Hurst

Russell Mitchell


District 3:

Hope Bawcom

Bates Mattison

Ben Podgor

Julia Russo

Erik Steavens


District 4:

Joe Gebbia

Kerry Witt