Elections are coming up quicker than you may think.

This year, the primary election will be held May 20. In the past it has been held in July, but a court ruling moved the date back to allow at least 45 days for the state’s runoff period so there’s enough time for military ballots to be returned.

This year, there are several local and state races in Reporter Newspapers communities.  To run, candidates needed to file to run for office by March 7.

Below is a list of candidates who qualified to run for positions representing Brookhaven, Buckhead, Dunwoody or Sandy Springs, as listed by the Georgia Secretary of State, DeKalb County Voter Registration & Elections or Fulton Registration & Elections:

Georgia Senate:

District 6  

Hunter B. Hill, Republican, Atlanta, incumbent

Antron D. Johnson, Democrat, Marietta


District 32

Judson H. Hill, Republican, Marietta, incumbent


District 40

Richard D. “Dick” Anderson, Republican, Atlanta

Tamara Y. Johnson, Democrat, Tucker

Francis R. “Fran” Millar, Republican, Dunwoody, incumbent

Benedict I. Truman II, Democrat, Atlanta


District 42

Elena C. Parent, Democrat, Atlanta

Gregory E. “Greg” Williams, Republican, Decatur

R. Kyle Williams, Democrat, Decatur


District 56

John E. Albers, Republican, Roswell, incumbent

Akhtar Sadiq, Democrat, Roswell


Georgia House of Representatives:

District 51

Wendell K. Willard, Republican, Sandy Springs, incumbent


District 52

Joseph B. “Joe” Wilkinson, Republican, Sandy Springs, incumbent


District 53

Rep. Sheila Jones, Democrat, Smyrna, incumbent


District 54

Beth Beskin, Republican, Atlanta

Robert W. “Bob” Gibeling, Republican, Atlanta

Loretta A. Lepore, Republican, Atlanta

John J. McCloskey, Republican, Atlanta

S. Angelic Moore, Republican, Atlanta


District 79

James Bradley “Brad” Goodchild, Republican, Dunwoody

Thomas K. “Tom” Taylor, Republican, Dunwoody, incumbent


District 80

Catherine S. Bernard, Republican, Atlanta

Michael J. “Mike” Jacobs, Republican, Brookhaven, incumbent


District 81

James R. “Jim” Duffie, Republican, Chamblee

M. Scott Holcomb, Democrat, incumbent


District 82

Mary Margaret Oliver, Democrat, Decatur, incumbent


DeKalb County Board of Commissioners

District 2

Jeff Rader, Democrat, incumbent


DeKalb County Board of Education (non-partisan)

District 1

Stan Jester


District 2

Don McChesney

Marshall Orson, incumbent


DeKalb County Sheriff (non-partisan)

Dale Bernard Collins

Ted Golden

R. “Tony” Hughes

Vernon Jones

Melody Maddox

Jeff Mann, incumbent

Melvin Mitchell

LaSalle Smith, Sr.


Fulton County Board of Commissioners

District 4

Eddie Lee Brewster, Democrat

Joan P. Garner, Democrat, incumbent


Fulton County Board of Education (non-partisan)

District 7

Julia C. Bernath, incumbent

Kathleen A. Wittschen