Candidates are competing for state and federal legislative offices and other government posts in Reporter Newspapers communities will appear on the Nov. 8 ballot. In the list below, click on a candidate’s name for his or her background and answers to Reporter Newspapers questions.

For our Voters Guide about TSPLOSTs, MARTA funding and Opportunity School District ballot questions, click here.

To check your polling place and to see a customized sample ballot, see the state’s “My Voter” page at



District 5 (Buckhead)

Beth Beskin (incumbent)

Bob Gibeling

District 6 (Buckhead/Sandy Springs)

Hunter Hill (incumbent)

Jaha Howard

District 40 (Brookhaven/Dunwoody/Sandy Springs)

Tamara Johnson-Shealey

Fran Millar (incumbent)

District 42 (Brookhaven)

Elena Parent (incumbent)

Kenneth Brett Quarterman (did not respond to questionnaire)

District 56 (Sandy Springs)

John Albers (incumbent)

Patrick Thompson



District 80 (Brookhaven/Sandy Springs)

Taylor Bennett (incumbent)

Meagan Hanson

The candidates also met in a debate at Oglethorpe University.

District 81 (Brookhaven)

Lane Flynn

Scott Holcomb (incumbent)


U.S. House of Representatives

District 5 (Buckhead)

Douglas Bell

John Lewis (incumbent)

District 6 (Brookhaven/Dunwoody/Sandy Springs)

Tom Price (incumbent)

Rodney Stooksbury  (did not respond to questionnaire)

DeKalb County CEO

Jack Lovelace

Michael Thurmond (did not respond to questionnaire)